The Zietzschmann-Preuss Award for the Promotion of Research in Veterinary Embryology is dedicated to preserving the memory of Prof. Dr. phil., Dr. med. vet. h.c. Otto ZIETZSCHMANN, veterinary anatomist in Zürich (1906-1924) and in Hannover (1924-1948).

The award was established through a donation by Prof. a.D. Dr. Fritz PREUSS, veterinary anatomist in Berlin (1955-1979) and a pupil of Otto Zietzschmann.

The award is issued annually and is managed by the World Association of Veterinary Anatomists (WAVA).

Originally, the award was founded as the Otto Zietzschmann Prize, according to a resolution passed by the 19th General Assembly of WAVA in Zürich (Switzerland) on August 19, 1994. However, it was subsequently renamed as the Zietzschmann-Preuss Award, in commemoration of the scientific merits and professional excellence of both of these eminent morphologists, during the General Assembly of the WAVA in Vancouver (Canada) on July 31, 2008.

The Zietzschmann-Preuss Award is intended for the promotion of veterinary embryological research.